Goddess

My novella, Goddess

Goddess

If you click on the photo of me, either to your left if you're on a laptop, or below if on a mobile device, it will take you to the video of me reading chapter one aloud.

I attended the Romance Writers Conference national conference in Washington, D.C., last week, and came away with many inspirational ideas, one of which, I gleaned from Elizabeth Ann West, who gave a presentation on, of all possible topics . . . math.

Yes, math.

Elizabeth is a successfully published indie writer and one of the things she does, is she adds content every week to a YouTube channel where she reads a chapter from her latest Jane Austen fan fiction work in progress.

I am borrowing a page from Elizabeth’s book, and every Thursday, I will share with you a chapter from my newest novella, Goddess.

Chapters One and Two await you!!!

 

 

Chapter One

She waits

 

As the late-afternoon shadows crept across the slate pavement surrounding the fountain, and as darkness lengthened over her gray, supine form, she remained watchful and silent, her senses on high-alert, her frozen body rippling with quiescent passion.

Her nostrils flared with the sweetly acrid scent of autumn, the nip in the air, the approaching hint of a winter’s death, whispering to her from the fading leaves.

Uneasiness rippled through her.

Where is she? Why hasn’t she come yet?

The fish, sensing this tension, turned their sightless eyes toward her, their mouths forming a silent O of fear.

Where is she . . . where is she . . . where is she, Lady Venus . . . where is she . . .

She adjusted her shoulders and a strain of tension ribboned down her spine.

The fish trapped between her knees spoke aloud what the others were thinking. “It’s getting dark, dear Lady Venus.”

Yes, it is . . . and yet, I sense her, I really do sense her . . .

“Where is she?” Lady Venus spoke aloud with a fretful toss of her mane.

“You may need to choose another.”

“I know the one I’m waiting for, she just hasn’t arrived yet.”

The fish closest to her left arm said, “If you wait too long . . . it will be too late.”

“Yes, yes, I know.”

She reclined in her fountain of frothing water and dancing fish, and Lady Venus’s heart grew heavy. She needed to find a suitable human to accompany her. For this mission to work, on this last night of Venus’s transit across the sun, many things needed to fall into place, and if her mission failed—

“Oh, don’t think on that,” the fish nearest to her feet said. “Don’t think on that.”

“I can’t help it,” Lady Venus said. “I’m getting worried.”

The fish by her right arm lifted his head. “What will happen to her?”

He meant the artist in peril.

“If I don’t get to her in time . . . ” her voice trailed off.

No sense talking. Too terrible to contemplate.

 

 

An hour passed.

Then another.

The fish cast sidelong glances at one another and tossed their scaly heads.

The fish straddled between her legs said it first. “We’re running out of time.”

“I know, lads. I know. Please lads, stop hectoring me.”

The fish facing her chest said it first. “Anyone will do at this point, dear Lady Venus.”

They flapped their tails in agreement.

She looked down her aquiline nose at him and shook her head.

“You and I both know that isn’t true.”

The fish fell silent.

And Lady Venus brooded.

 

Chapter Two

 

She gazed out upon the circle. She saw a few women who might do. But as she studied each woman in turn, her senses did not flare with the electric jolt of recognition she sought; that spark of an inner life, the beautiful awareness of connecting with a kindred spirit. She needed someone; yes, a human, most definitely, but it had to be the right human.

And she was running out of time.

“And yet,” the fish between her legs noted wisely, “you do sense her, don’t you?”

“I do. I really do.”

“Then we shall be patient and wait.”

“Yes.”

A sliver of despair shivered through her and coiled in her belly.

Her thoughts grew restive. She really did sense her, the woman for whom she searched; her stone-cold body tingled with the anticipation of it.

But what if she didn’t come? Lady Venus hadn’t really anticipated that this might be the case, and she fretted at it, for many things had to happen tonight, and it was entirely possible that she might never come at all.

In that case, all would be lost.

“I can only hope,” Lady Venus said, and the fish, sensing her inner torment, fell silent.

 

 

Working It:  The Girls of Bloomington North Book One

The young adult romance that got Crushing It and Loving It started!

Working It: The Girls of Bloomington North Book One

Jordan Meadows gets to work on a movie set this summer . . . what could possibly go wrong?

Fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places will love this New York Times bestseller.

Dad.
Made.
Me.
Get.
A.
Job.
Ack.

Her junior year at Bloomington High School North was tough, what with the PSATs and studying for finals in all her AP classes, and Jordan Meadows is looking forward to a summer of fun and relaxation—driving around town with her friends in her brand new tornado-red Volkswagen Bug, hanging out at the IU Pool, checking out the cute lifeguards, working on the perfect tan—all while maintaining her de rigueur grooming at the Tranquility Spa, which she visits for all her grooming needs, including manicures, pedicures, eyebrow waxes, leg waxes, and anything else-she-can-think-of-waxes.

That is, until Dad lowers the boom. No more Daddy-the-ATM, no more National Bank of Daddykins, no more running his Mastercard up to the credit limit, no sirree, young lady, those days are over. He orders her to get a summer job.

Jordan is beyond annoyed. Really, Dad? Really? A job, really? Yes, really.

Resigned to her cruel fate, Jordan attempts to find something she can do that won’t interfere with her grooming schedule.

But then she sees a notice in The Herald Times, announcing that a film crew is coming to Bloomington that summer to film House of Wax IX: Revenge of the Revengenator, and that people wanting to work as extras can apply at an open casting call.

How cool is that? She’ll work as an extra!

In a bizarre twist of irony—her dad is a master at noticing ironic twists—Jordan parlays her knowledge of all things wax into a job on the makeup crew, dribbling wax on the extras . . . talk about playing to her strengths!

And then she meets a cute red-haired boy who enjoys having hot wax dribbled all over his body and then he asks if Jordan will dribble wax . . . anywhere else?

Author’s Note: Working It is book one in a three-book series about the girls of Bloomington North High School. The next two books in the series are Crushing It and Loving It.

Working It can be read as a standalone.

This first book is sweet, and the following two books in the series are more hard-core.

 

 

The Latest from Angharad Jones ~ More Books

Black Bear and the Handmaiden

NOW AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK AND ONLINE, WITH A FRESH, NEW COVER – In this highly eroticized re-telling of the classic Grimm Brothers’ fairy tale, readers will fall in love with the two beautiful, lustful sisters, Snow White and Rose Red. Snow White, with her porcelain-like skin, blonde hair, and demure pink lips, wants to marry Jacob Grimm, but he, the wayward lad, wants to marry a lass with money and a title; sadly, Snow White has none of these attributes.

Find out more…

Breaking Out

I learned a great number of things at the Sell More Books Show, and one of those things is how to share tracks on Soundcloud and also how to embed a section of audio.

The first selection below is the moment when Mike first meets Hank and realizes that the guy is built a little bit differently from the average man.

 

 

This selection, chapter nine, is my favorite chapter in the book. It’s the moment when Hank meets the love of his life, and Mike reconnects with a childhood friend.

 

Welcome to the website of Denise Gwen

Crushing It, my fun YA comedy, is going to come out soon on audibles, and I also just re-released Black Bear and the Handmaiden with a gorgeous new cover . . . check it out!

Denise